Weight Permit Fees
State of TN Weight Permit Fees
The Tennessee Secretary of State provides information on Weight Permit Fees in its document titled "Overweight and Overdimensional Movements on Tennessee Highways." For your convenience, the information has been extracted and provided below.
The Commissioner of Transportation shall charge fees for granting special permits in accordance with the following schedules.
- Excessive Width:
- Not more than ten feet (10'): $10.00
- Over ten feet (10') but not more than twelve feet (12'): $15.00
- Over twelve feet (12') but not more than fourteen feet (14'): $25.00
- Over fourteen feet (14') but not more than sixteen feet (16'): $30.00
- Over sixteen feet (16'): $30.00 plus $5.00 for each additional foot or fraction thereof greater than seventeen feet (17'), except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (f).
- For houseboats over seventeen feet (17'): $2,500.00 plus $100.00 for each additional inch or fraction thereof greater than eighteen feet (18').
- Excessive Height or Length:
- Excessive Weight:
$15.00 plus 5 cents per ton mile
- Evaluation of Bridges and Similar Structures:
Movements weighing over two hundred thousand but not more than three hundred thousand pounds, $100.00
Movements weighing over three hundred thousand but not more than five hundred thousand pounds, $300.00
Movements weighing over five hundred thousand but nor more than one million pounds, $500.00
Movements weighing over one million pounds, actual cost.
- Annual Permits:
Annual Permits may be obtained for overdimensional and/or overweight vehicles at a cost of five hundred dollars ($500.00) per year for weights up to 120,000 lbs., and for one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) per year for weights in excess of 120,000 lbs.
Individual owners of overdimensional boats used strictly for non-commercial pleasure may obtain annual permits for double the amount of the regular fee for a single trip permit for the particular movement.
Annual permits are available for manufactured roof trusses not to exceed fourteen (14') feet wide for a fee of five hundred ($500.00) dollars.
Annual Permits are available for sealed containerized cargo units for a fee of five hundred ($500.00) dollars.
- Multi State Permitting
A permit for movement through more than one state may be obtained by application submitted by phone or facsimile through a qualified Multi-State Permit Agent. All requests must be ordered with a 24 hour lead time to coordinate all states effective dates and times, and conform to the guidelines as represented in the SASHTO Agreement in the Multi State Permitting Manual.
- Authorized Vendor Stations
- Permits (except annual permits) may be received and paid for through the various authorized vendor stations. At the present time these vendors are:
- Best Permit Agency
- Comdata Network, Inc.
- Interstate Permit Service, Inc.
- Jet Permit
- Maryland Permit Service
- Nova Permits & Pilot Cars
- Permits, Inc.
- State Permits
- The Permit Company
- Trans Mid-America, Inc.
- Transport Permits
- Xero-Fax, Inc.
- Special permits pertaining to overweight and/or overdimensional movements may be obtained only from the Department of Transportation (telephone #: (615) 741-3821).
Click here to access a free online version of The Tennessee Code. To find a particular statute, enter the statute number (i.e. 39-17-1351) into the search box at the top left of the page and click the 'search' button. That will give you a direct link to the statute you want to read.
Authority: T.C.A. §55-7-205. Administrative History: Original rule filed July 1, 1982; effective August 2, 1982. Repeal and new rule filed October 31, 1985; effective November 30, 1985. Repeal and new rule filed June 19, 1991; effective August 3, 1991. Amendment filed December 28, 1995; effective April 29, 1996. Amendment filed May 22, 1997; effective September 28, 1997. Amendment filed February 25, 2000; effective June 28, 2000. Amendment filed January 25, 2001; effective May 31, 2001. Amendment filed January 11, 2002; effective May 31, 2002. Rule has been assigned a new control number from 1680-2-2-.24 filed and effective February 1, 2003.